‘Shipping Wars’ star makes pit-stop in Ile Des Chenes


Photo by Marianne Curtis

Marc Springer, one of the star`s of A&E`s Shipping Wars made a recent pitstop in Ile des Chenes to hang out with buddy Marc Palud. 

By Marianne Curtis

Patrons of a local watering hole in Ile Des Chenes did a double take when Marc Springer, one of the stars of A&E’s real-life series Shipping Wars walked in and joined the locals for wing night.

On August 29, Springer the owner of Snortn Boar Transport from Seattle, Washington arrived in Ile Des Chenes after delivering a special load to a fan in Steinbach. Springer is better known as one of five shippers featured on the A&E’s original real-life series Shipping Wars. The show follows the shippers who have discovered that money can be made transporting items that traditional carriers won’t touch.

In an exclusive interview with the Dawson Trail Dispatch, Springer explained how he ended up in Manitoba. He was looking for a reason to come to Manitoba to see his friend Marc Palud, who lives in Ile des Chenes is also a representative for HERD Grills.

“I came up here because there was a gentleman who contacted me through email who lives south of Steinbach who sells trailers,” Springer explained. “He sent me an email saying  ‘I got a load of trailers coming out of Texas, do you have any interest – I said Heck ya, that’s what I do.”

Springer says that while here he hopes to do some business.

“I am trying to grow my trucking business and I would like to do try to get some continual things going – I hear there is a pre-cast concrete place from Steinbach that is going to Kent Washington which is 20 miles from my house. I would like to put a dedicated run from Seattle to Washington – I am trying to build contacts and build my business.”

Springer says he loves Manitoba and would love to come back with his wife and retire.

“Ì have roots here – I learned to drive on the way to Dauphin in a 1960 Volvo where I played minor hockey at 14 years old,“ Springer continued. “I tried out five times for the Brandon Wheat Kings; I got scouted playing in Steinbach. It was a huge deal for me and it set the tone for my life.”

Springer is pretty optimistic that southern Manitoba will be seeing more of him in the future. With good friend Palud living in Ile Des Chenes he already has a place to hang his hat. The pair met through a sales deal. Springer says he spotted a front bumper on a truck and he asked the driver where he found it. He was told it was a HERD Bumper so he contacted the company. Palud, was the salesman who received the request. Now, Springer`s infamous Kenworth T600 which is featured on Shipping Wars is sporting a HERD Bumper.

Palud and his family hosted Springer while he was in town for two days waiting for a return load to Seattle. While here Springer spent an afternoon trying out the zipline at the Amazing Corn in St. Adolphe and flying over Ile Des Chenes with a stunt pilot.

Comments Off on ‘Shipping Wars’ star makes pit-stop in Ile Des Chenes

Filed under News

Comments are closed.