Province names new health board members

By Marianne Curtis

On June 27, the province officially named the new board of directors for Manitoba’s five new, merged health authorities.

Health Minister Theresa Oswald says naming the new boards is all part of the province’s commitment to move towards supporting five regional health authorities instead of eleven.

“The new boards have been selected to ensure an appropriate balance of skills, experience, diversity and geographic representation,” stated Oswald. “They will focus on ensuring a smooth transition by streamlining the merged corporate operations while avoiding disruptions to front-line care.”

Denise Harder, from Portage La Prairie has been named the new chairperson for the newly formed Southeastern RHA. Southeastern RHA encompasses the area formerly governed by South Eastman Health and Central Regional Health Authority.

The new board consists of fifteen members, eight of which are from the region.

Guy Levesque from Ste. Anne remains on the board as vice-chairperson. He sat as chairperson for South Eastman Health prior to its dissolution. He is joined at the table by Jean Balcaen (Richer); Roy Enns (Steinbach); Line Leclerc (La Broquerie); Susan Hart-Kulbaba (Buffalo Point); Ron Tardiff (Lorette); Leo Van Den Bussche (St. Adolphe); and Guy Gagnon (Ste. Agathe).

The remaining seven members include Paul Generini (Notre Dame de Lourdes); Donna Harasymec (Morden); Don Kuhl (Winkler); Armande LeClair (Letellier); Cheryl McKitrick (Crystal City); Daren Van Den Bussche (Portage la Prairie).

All board members were selected from those who served on the previous two health boards.

The permanent boards will look for ways to streamline administration, focus on provincial priorities, such as ensuring all Manitobans have access to a family doctor, and work to strengthen local community involvement in health care.


Comments Off on Province names new health board members

Filed under News

Comments are closed.