Sawatsky inducted into Hall of Fame

In the middle of April, Steinbach native Michelle Sawatsky will join the ranks of the top athletes in the province when she is inducted into the Manitoba High School Sports Hall of Fame.

On April 21, the Manitoba High School Athletic Association will be inducting Sawatsky, along with five other athletes, three builders and one team into the Class of 2012. The inductees will be honoured during a special reception at the Holiday Inn South.

Sawatsky grew up in Steinbach and was a member of Steinbach Regional Secondary School Sabres (SRSS). She led the SRSS Volleyball team to the 1987 Provincial AA Championship and was also setter on the 1989 Canada Summer Games Bronze Medalist team.

She was also the starting setter at the University of Manitoba when as they won National Championships in 1990, 1991 and 1992 and was named CIAU/CIS Player of the Year in 1991, 1992, and in 1993 was named University of Manitoba Female Athlete of the Year.

Sawatsky also participated on two World Student Volleyball Games teams in 1991 and 1992 and on the Senior National Team in 1995.  She participated in the Bronze Medal Game in the Pan American Games in Argentina in 1996 and also was a member of the team that finished 9th in the Summer Olympics in Atlanta.

Along with Sawatsky, athletes Ed Alexiuk, Nick Papadakis, Lynda (Kidd) Chorley, Chris Walby and Rick Watts are also being inducted. Builders Frank McKinnon, Gladwyn Scott and Audrey Jones, are being inducted along with the Hapnot Collegiate (Flin Flon) Basketball Team from 1950 -56.


Steinbach’s Michelle Sawatsky will be inducted into the Manitoba High School Athletic Hall of Fame on April 21.


Comments Off on Sawatsky inducted into Hall of Fame

Filed under News, Sports

Comments are closed.