Vita student wins award


By Marianne Curtis

A grade twelve student from Shevechencko School in Vita was recently awarded a scholarship from the Manitoba Council for Exceptional Children.

On February 24, seventeen year old Candace Maxymowich was awarded the “Yes I can Award” which is an academic scholarship from the Manitoba Council for Exceptional Children. The Manitoba Council for Exceptional Children is a non-profit organization dedicated to the advancement of effective practice in educating students with exceptional needs inManitoba.

At a special event inWinnipeg, Maxymowich was presented a scholarship worth $750.00. The “Yes I Can Award” supports students from Manitobawho are pursuing a career directly related to working with persons with exceptionalities. To be considered, she had to write a resume and an essay about her community involvement and what she where she sees herself in the future.

“My volunteer experience has convinced me further to follow a career working in the health care field,” Maxymowich says. “In the fall, I plan to attendBrandonUniversitywith the goal of becoming a Psychiatric Nurse. I would like to work in the Selkirk Mental Health Centre and hope to open a young wilderness program for young women in emotional distress.”

Maxymowich explained that her interest in the field grew from volunteering at the Vita and District Health Center and other areas in South Eastman Health.

“I enjoy volunteering in the personal care home setting and assisting and entertaining the elderly residents,” she adds.

While Maxymowich appreciates the award, she says there was one thing that made receiving it extra special.

“Seeing the pride in my family and friend’s faces meant more to me than receiving this award,” she added.

The ambitious teenager sees herself eventually running for municipal, provincial, and federal government office.

“I will be attending Forum for Young Canadians inOttawafrom February 27th to March 4th where I will have the special privilege of sitting in both the House of Commons and Senate,” Maxymowich noted. “I will meet the nation’s leaders, interact with decision-makers, and debate contemporary issues.”

In May, she will also participating in the Youth Parliament of Manitoba.

“Yes I Can” scholarship winner Candace Maxymowich says she is especially grateful to her mentor Michelle Gawronsky for influencing her life and motivating her to follow her dreams.

Comments Off on Vita student wins award

Filed under News

Comments are closed.