De Salaberry reeve returns despite reservations


 

By Marianne Curtis

   The RM of De Salaberry reeve is pleased to be back for a second term, even though he initially had no intentions of seeking reelection.

   Former municipal administrator Ron Musick says that he made it no secret at the last election that his bid would be a “one time deal”. However, voters spoke and he soundly defeated former municipal foreman Claude Gagnon.

   “When I initially ran for office four years ago, I had made it no secret that if I was successful, it would be a one term deal; I had recently retired and I was getting involved with other things, so I thought this would work out well,” explains Musick. “It turned out that we had a great council to work with and all in all it was really a joy to work with council and staff, and when the time approached for this coming election, members of councils started asking if I might reconsider my position and let my name stand for another term.”

   Musick added that it feels great to have gained the confidence in voters and he is optimistic about the next four years.

   “We have two new councilors and I am confident that they will be an asset to the group,” Musick continues. “I want a united council that is able to discuss, disagree and even argue but in the end live with the decisions that are made and able to sit down afterward and enjoy each others company.”

   “It is definitely satisfying, even humbling to  see that the people have expressed their desire to have you continue to manage the municipality on their behalf for the next four years,” Musick says. “I also interpret that to mean that people feel we are headed in the right direction and that we should continue to focus on what works well.”

   Musick credits his previous experience as the municipality’s administrator with his success as reeve.

   “I have a fairly good working knowledge of the municipal  and planning acts and their regulations, so am able to comment fairly comfortably on certain matters we deal with,” Musick adds. “I have a fairly good working knowledge of the municipal and planning acts and their regulations, so am able to comment fairly comfortably on certain matters we deal with.”

   The RM of De Salaberry’s new council consist of returning councilors Germain Roy, Marc Hamonic, Marc Marion and Gerry Maynard along with newcomers Andre Carbonneau and Patrick Catellier. Bruno Hebert was not reelected.  

RM of De Salaberry reeve Ron Musick is pleased that he has been returning to office for another four years.

Comments Off on De Salaberry reeve returns despite reservations

Filed under News

Comments are closed.