Opinion – Finding family!


through the looking glassBy Marianne Curtis

On March 8, my mom passed away. Two weeks later, I found a whole other family.


Not many people know I am adopted. It’s not something that I have talked about unless I was trying to explain some of the things I do, and how I react to certain situations.

It all started with my dog. I have always felt Odie was special. I didn’t realize how attached I was to him, until he went missing a week after my mother passed away. I spent four days looking for that dog – until I finally found him. I was in the “looking” mode, so I did a search on Facebook, for people with the same last name. I found two in the city I was born. Without blinking, I sent them both a note, asking if they knew my mom. That was Friday.

I didn’t hear anything for a few days, and then suddenly my life took an amazing turn. One of the messages reached my uncle. One day I was an orphan, the next I had two uncles, their families, and a grandmother. I found my mother, a step-dad, tons of cousins, and even a sixteen year old sister.
What is the greatest thing for me though, is that all my life, I thought I had been rejected by two mothers. But since I found my family, I am finding that it was nothing like that at all.  I really was wanted, just that circumstances made it impossible for my mother to keep me. I had always hoped that the decision was the right one for her; that she’d been able to continue her education and live her life.  I have found out, that yes, she did do what she wanted to do – and yet, she never forgot about me.

I believe that things happen for a reason ~ there are no coincidences.

I ended up speaking to my birth mom for the very first time, the exact hour, two weeks after I saw my mom laying in state at her viewing. Her life carries so many similarities to mine, yet she never raised me. It is like we’ve lived parallel lives, two provinces apart.

As this paper goes to print, I will be sitting in Edmonton, celebrating my 41’st birthday, surrounded by a family I just found. While I have never met them, in the weeks after our first conversation, they have treated me more like family, then I have experienced in my entire life.
They say when one door closes, another opens…truer words have not been spoken.

 

Comments Off on Opinion – Finding family!

Filed under Opinions

Comments are closed.